Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Official 2018 Election results and what happens next

Find out the official result of the 2018 Jersey Election and what will happen over the coming weeks.

The 2018 Jersey Election took place on Wednesday 16 May, 2018.  Out of the 49 seats available, 31 members were returned and 18 are new.  13 are women which is equal to 27% of the States Assembly.

Elected members of Jersey's States Assembly 2018-2022


Tracey Vallois

Kristina Moore

John Le Fondré

Lyndon Farnham

Steve Pallett

Ian Gorst

Sarah Ferguson

Sam Mézec


Grouville – John Le Maistre

St. Brelade – Michael Jackson

St. Clement – Len Norman

St. Helier – Simon Crowcroft

St. John – Christopher Taylor

St. Lawrence – Deidre Mezbourian

St. Martin – Karen Stone

St. Mary – John Le Bailly

St. Ouen – Richard Buchanan

St. Peter – Richard Vibert

St. Saviour – Sadie Rennard

Trinity – Philip Le Sueur


Grouville - Carolyn Labey

St. Brelade No. 1 – John Young 

St. Brelade No. 2 – Montfort Tadier, Graham Truscott

St. Clement – Lindsay Ash, Susie Pinel

St. Helier No. 1 – Russell Labey, Judy Martin, Scott Wickenden

St. Helier No. 2 – Carina Alves, Geoff Southern, Robert Ward

St. Helier No. 3 and 4 – Steve Ahier, Mike Higgins, Mary Le Hegarat, Richard Rondel

St. John – Trevor Pointon

St. Lawrence – Gregory Guida, Kirsten Morel

St. Martin – Steve Luce

St. Mary – David Johnson

St. Ouen – Richard Renouf

St. Peter – Rowland Huelin

St. Saviour No. 1 – Jeremy Maçon, Kevin Pamplin

St. Saviour No. 2 – Louise Doublet, Kevin Lewis

St. Saviour No. 3 - Jess Perchard

Trinity – Hugh Raymond

For a detailed breakdown of the results, visit the website here.

What happens now?

The 49 newly elected States members will be sworn in at 10am on Friday 1 June 2018.

From Monday 21 May all Members will be encouraged to attend an induction programme run by the States Greffe, which will provide new Members with information about States procedures and all Members with updates on the main issues which the Assembly will be facing over the next four years.

The current Chief Minister and Ministers remain in office until their successors are appointed. The Chief Minister Designate will be selected on 4 June and new Ministers will be chosen on 7 and 8 June. However they only take office from the moment when the States appoint the 10th Minister during the selection process, so it is not until the Bailiff announces the result of the successful ballot for that position (if it is contested) or announces the appointment as nominated by the Chief Minister Designate (if it is uncontested) that the new Council of Ministers takes over from the current one and the Chief Minister 'Designate' becomes Chief Minister.

The current Chief Minister continues in post until 7 or 8 June with full legal powers. Current Ministers who will be in the new States continue in their positions until the new Ministers take office on 7th or 8th June.

Current Ministers who will not be members after 10am on Friday 1 June leave office as Ministers at that time. Between this time and 7th/8th June their ministerial offices will be vacant and, as happens at present with a holiday or absence, the Chief Minister will either discharge these ministerial functions himself or appoint another Minister who is still in office to do this for a few days.

The first two meetings of the new States for 'normal' business are on 26 June and 10 July.