STATES OF JERSEY



RENT CONTROL TRIBUNAL: APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS

Lodged au Greffe on 24th February 2004 by the Housing Committee

STATES GREFFE

PROPOSITION

THE STATES are asked to decide whether they are of opinion -

in pursuance of Article 3(1) of the Dwelling Houses (Rent Control) (Jersey) Law 1949, as amended, to reappoint the following persons to act as Chairman and Members of the Rent Control Tribunal for the period ending on 12th April 2005, namely –

Mr. Terence Lavery – Chairman Mrs. Mary Margaret Gaiger Mr. Ronald Peter Welling Mr. Christopher John Sheehan

HOUSING COMMITTEE

REPORT

Article 3 of the Dwelling Houses (Rent Control) (Jersey) Law 1949, as amended, provides for the States to appoint a Rent Control Tribunal consisting of a Chairman and not less than 3, nor more than 4 other Members. The Law also provides that the Chairman and 2 other Members constitute a quorum for any sitting of the Tribunal.

Regulation 2 of the Dwelling Houses (Rent Control) (Jersey) Regulations 1946 states that the Chairman and Members of the Tribunal shall hold office for a period of 12 months ending on 12th April each year, and are eligible for re-appointment.

The Chairman and Members who are serving on the Tribunal for the period ending on 12th April 2004 have agreed to allow their names to be put forward for nomination for a further term.

The Committee accordingly has pleasure in nominating the current Chairman and the persons named below to serve for a further 12-month term, ending on 12th April 2005.

Mr. Terence Lavery – Chairman Mrs. Mary Margaret Gaiger Mr. Ronald Peter Welling Mr. Christopher John Sheehan

There are no additional financial or manpower implications for the States arising from this proposition.