# **STATES OF JERSEY**



# DRAFT EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES (TREATY OF ATHENS) (JERSEY) REGULATIONS 200

Lodged au Greffe on 27th January 2004 by the Policy and Resources Committee

**STATES GREFFE** 



## DRAFT EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES (TREATY OF ATHENS) (JERSEY) REGULATIONS 200

#### **REPORT**

The following Regulations are made under provisions of Article 1(3A) of the European Communities (Jersey) Law 1973, which enables the States to make Regulations to modify the list of Community Treaties in the 1973 Law as necessary to reflect similar changes made in the equivalent U.K. legislation.

On 1st May 2004, 10 new States will become members of the European Union, namely, the Czech Republic, the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Cyprus, the Republic of Latvia, the Republic of Lithuania, the Republic of Hungary, the Republic of Malta, the Republic of Poland, the Republic of Slovenia and the Slovak Republic.

The United Kingdom has enacted the European Union (Accession) Act 2003, which adds the E.U. Accession Treaty signed at Athens on 16th April 2003, relating to the 10 new E.U. Member States, to the list of Community Treaties in the European Communities Act 1972.

A proposed change to the European Communities (Jersey) Law 1973 would similarly add the E.U. Accession Treaty to the list of Community Treaties in Article 1(1) of the 1973 Law, and mirrors the change made by the U.K. to the definition of 'the Treaties' and 'the Community' in the European Communities Act 1972.

The purpose of the amendment is to give effect in Jersey to the Accession Treaty and the enlargement of the E.U., so that the provisions of Protocol 3 to the U.K. Act of Accession, which governs the Island's relationship with the E.U., will apply in relation to the expanded Union.

It is not anticipated the legislation will have any additional revenue or manpower implications for the States; in fact, a manpower saving will be derived from a reduced requirement for the issue of work permits.

### **Explanatory Note**

*Article 1* of these Regulations adds to the definition of "the Treaties" in the European Communities (Jersey) Law 1973 a reference to the Treaty of Athens, a treaty signed on 16th April 2003 concerning the accession of certain States to the European Community.

Article 2 of these Regulations names the Regulations and states that they will come into effect 7 days after the day on which they are registered.



# DRAFT EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES (TREATY OF ATHENS) (JERSEY) REGULATIONS 200

Made[date to be inserted]Coming into force[date to be inserted]

**THE STATES**, in pursuance of Article 1 of the European Communities (Jersey) Law 1973, [11] have made the following Regulations –

#### 1 Article 1 of Law amended

In Article 1(1) of the European Communities (Jersey) Law 1973, [2] after sub-paragraph (1) of the definition "the Treaties", there shall be added the following sub-paragraph –

"(m) the treaty signed at Athens on 16th April 2003 concerning the accession to the European Union of the Czech Republic, the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Cyprus, the Republic of Latvia, the Republic of Lithuania, the Republic of Hungary, the Republic of Malta, the Republic of Poland, the Republic of Slovenia and the Slovak Republic;".

#### 2 Citation and commencement

This Regulation may be cited as the European Communities (Treaty of Athens) (Jersey) Regulations 200-and shall come into force 7 days after they are made.

[1] Recueil des Lois, Volume 1973-1974, page 97, Volume 1979-1981, page 333, Volume 1986-1987, page 399, Volume 1996-1997, page 4, Volume 1999, page 623 and Nos. 7452, 8754, 8930 and 9361.

<sup>[2]</sup> Recueil des Lois, Volume 1973-1974, page 97, Volume 1979-1981, page 333, Volume 1986-1987, page 399, Volume 1996-1997, page 4, Volume 1999, page 623 and Nos. 7452, 8754, 8930 and 9361.