# **STATES OF JERSEY**



## WATERFRONT ENTERPRISE BOARD: APPOINTMENT OF MEMBER

Lodged au Greffe on 27th April 2004 by the Policy and Resources Committee

**STATES GREFFE** 

### **PROPOSITION**

### THE STATES are asked to decide whether they are of opinion -

- (a) to appoint Deputy Francis Gerald Voisin for a period expiring on 31st March 2006 as a States Director of the Waterfront Enterprise Board Limited;
- (b) to instruct the Greffier of the States to notify the company of the States' decision.

POLICY AND RESOURCES COMMITTEE

#### REPORT

The States established the Waterfront Enterprise Board (WEB) Limited in 1996, as a separate legal entity to act as a development agency of the States, for an initial 10-year period. The WEB Memorandum and Articles of Association provide that, unless and until determined by the company by ordinary resolution, the number of Directors shall be 7, with 3 States Directors, 3 non-States Directors and the Managing Director. All States Directors and non-States Directors are appointed by the States and the Managing Director is appointed by the Board. The States also appoints the Chairman who must be a non-States Director.

The States Directors were initially appointed for a fixed period expiring on 31st March 1997 and thereafter for fixed periods of 3 years expiring on 31st March in the relevant year. The current States' Directors, Senator P.F. Routier and Deputy J.J. Huet, were appointed on 1st April 2003 and their terms of office run until 31st March 2006. Senator P.F.C. Ozouf was also appointed as a States Director in April 2003, but has resigned from this position following his recent appointment by the States as President of the Environment and Public Services Committee.

The Policy and Resources Committee is grateful to Senator Ozouf for the contribution that he has made as a States Director of the Waterfront Enterprise Board, and would like to place on record its thanks to the Senator for the work that he has carried out in this connection.

The Waterfront Enterprise Board is currently made up as follows –

- Pierre Horsfall, C.B.E. (Chairman appointed by the States on 2nd March 2004)
- Senator Paul Routier
- Deputy Jacquie Huet
- Mr. Peter Crespel
- Jurat John Tibbo
- David Margason, Managing Director.

In accordance with the Board's Articles of Association, the States is now being asked to appoint a replacement for Senator Ozouf as a States Director of the Waterfront Enterprise Board. The Committee is pleased to nominate Deputy Gerald Francis Voisin, and believes that he will make a valuable contribution to the Board.

Subject to the approval of the States, this appointment would run for a period of just under 2 years, and would expire on 31st March 2006, i.e. the same date as the other States Directors.

There are no financial and manpower implications for the States arising from this proposition.