STATES OF JERSEY



RATE APPEAL BOARD: APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS

Lodged au Greffe on 4th July 2006 by the Minister for Treasury and Resources

STATES GREFFE

PROPOSITION

THE STATES are asked to decide whether they are of opinion -

in pursuance of Article 44 of the Rates (Jersey) Law 2005 to appoint-

Leslie May Jeremy James Robin Johnson Brian Ahier Peter John Norman Thomas Slattery Timothy George Cartwright Jethro Adams

as members of the Rate Appeal Board, for the period ending 31st December 2009.

MINISTER FOR TREASURY AND RESOURCES

REPORT

The term of office of the members of the Parish Rate Appeal Board ended on 30th September 2005.

The Minister for Treasury and Resources is grateful to each of the retiring members –

Mr. L. Crapp

Mr. C. Baird

Mr. M. Dryden

Mr. P. Freely

Advocate D.G. Le Sueur, and

Mr. M. Vibert

for the hours of service they have given freely over recent years.

The Minister is delighted that the following members are willing to put their names forward for a further term of office –

Mr. Leslie May

Mr. May was a senior civil servant since coming to Jersey in 1973 until his retirement in 1991. During this period he held the following posts:

Financial Controller, States Telecommunications Board;

Fuel Controller, Defence Committee:

Director, States Telecommunications Board;

Treasurer of the States, Finance and Economics Committee.

Mr. May was appointed as a member of the Parish Rate Appeal Board in September 2000.

Mr. Brian Ahier

Mr. Ahier is now retired having followed a career in the finance industry as a company secretary. He has been a President of the Jersey Football Association and Chairman of the Advisory Council for Education, Sport and Culture. Mr. Ahier has been a member of the Parish Rate Appeal Board since December 2000.

Mr. Jeremy Johnson

Mr. Johnson has been a member of the Parish Rate Appeal Board since 2000. He is also Chairman of the Caesarea Association. He has a legal background and has been a Partner in Galsworthy and Stones since 1977.

The Minister is also delighted to propose the appointment of the following new members of the Board for the period up to 31st December 2009 –

Mr. Peter Norman

Mr. Norman has spent a career in Norman's Limited and was appointed non-executive Chairman in 1998 as well as being a Director of several other Norman Group companies in Jersey, Guernsey and France. Mr. Norman has served as a Samaritan and has recently been elected as a member of the Parish Roads Committee.

Mr. Thomas Slattery

Mr. Slattery has had an accounting career and was Managing Director of Hill Samuel Jersey Ltd. from 1997–2003. He is also Deputy Chairman of the Jersey Advisory and Conciliation Service and a member of the Jersey Police Complaints Authority.

Mr. Timothy Cartwright

Mr. Cartwright has had a legal background and has been a Director of Rathbone Trust Company Jersey Limited since 2005 and was Executive Officer of the Jersey Building and Allied Trades Employers' Federation from 1987 – April 2006. He is also Joint Chairman of Beaulieu School Parent Teachers' Association.

Mr. Jethro Adams

Mr. Adams has spent 10 years as a Rates Assessor for the Parish of St. Helier and has acted as Chairman for th last 3 years. He has management experience with S.G. Benest and Son and Commodore Shipping/Condor Ltd.

Financial and manpower implications

The posts are honorary and there are no financial or manpower implications for the States arising from this proposition.

Re-issue Note

This projet is re-issued because an early draft of the report was incorrectly sent to the States Greffe as the version for printing.