# **STATES OF JERSEY**



## PUBLIC EMPLOYEES CONTRIBUTORY RETIREMENT SCHEME COMMITTEE OF MANAGEMENT: MEMBERSHIP

Lodged au Greffe on 20th November 2006 by the Chief Minister

**STATES GREFFE** 

### PROPOSITION

#### THE STATES are asked to decide whether they are of opinion -

to approve, in accordance with Regulation 3(2) of the Public Employees (Contributory Retirement Scheme) (General) (Jersey) Regulations 1989, the appointment of the Committee of Management, for a period of 3 years commencing 1st January 2007 as follows–

Employer Representatives nominated by the Chief Minister

Senator B.E. Shenton Deputy I.J. Gorst Mr. J.S. Clark Mr. M. Pinel, Deputy Chief Executive of the Chief Minister's Department

Employer Representatives nominated by the Minister for Treasury and Resources

Mr. J. Rosser Mr. S.M. Patidar Mr. I. Black, Treasurer of the States

Employee Representatives nominated by the Public Employees Pension Scheme Joint Negotiating Group

Mr. F.A. Greene Mr. J.H. Lees Mr. W. McPhee Mr. J.T. Noel Mr. M.D. Orbell Mr. A. Tadier Mr. G. Birbeck

CHIEF MINISTER

#### REPORT

The Regulations provide that a Committee of Management will be established which shall have and exercise all such powers, authorities and discretion as are vested in it by the Regulations governing the scheme.

The membership comprises 6 employer representatives and 6 member representatives or such greater equal number as may be determined from time to time by agreement between the States Employment Board and the representative associations. The total membership is currently 7 on each side. Of the employer representatives, 4 are chosen by the Chief Minister whilst the remaining 3 are chosen by the Minister for Treasury and Resources. Nominations for member representatives are determined in a manner which the Chief Minister has agreed with the representative associations. The member representative nominations have been submitted by the Public Employees Pension Scheme Joint Negotiating Group. All employer and member representatives serve in an honorary capacity.

There are no additional financial or manpower implications for the States arising from this proposition.

#### **EMPLOYER NOMINEES**

#### Mr. Ian Black

Mr. I. Black, Treasurer of the States, Senior Civil Servant.

#### Mr. James S. Clark

Mr. Clark is the Principal of James Clark & Co Chartered Accountants with a background in trusteeship and unit trust work and brings a wide range of experience to the Committee of Management.

#### **Deputy Ian Gorst**

Deputy Ian Gorst, States Member

#### Mr. Sachin Meeku Patidar

Mr. Patidar is a Principal and Director of Jeffrey & Co Ltd., Jersey with a background mainly in the investment arena and more latterly with a local pension and investment focus. Mr. Patidar is also Chairman of the Institute of Financial Planning for the Channel Islands.

#### Mr. Michael John Pinel

Mr. M. Pinel, Deputy Chief Executive of the Chief Minister's Department, Senior Civil Servant.

#### Mr. John Rosser

Mr. Rosser retired from a senior position in the local insurance industry which he held for 15 years, having previously worked in Bristol and London. He spent several years as a council member of the Insurance Institute of Jersey, including a year as President, and several years on the committee of the Jersey Life and Pensions Society, including 2 years as Chairman. Member of the Social Security Advisory Council.

#### **Senator Ben Shenton**

Senator Ben Shenton, States Member

#### **EMPLOYEE NOMINEES**

#### Mr. Gary Birbeck

Product Research Manager employed by Jersey Telecoms since 1978. Pension representative for Amicus – EESA (Electrical & Engineering Staff Association). Member, Public Employees Pension Scheme Joint Negotiating Group (JNG). Member, PECRS Committee of Management 2003 to present date.

#### Mr. Frank A. Greene

Chief Fire Officer; Member, Public Employees Pension Scheme Joint Negotiating Group (JNG). Member, PECRS Committee of Management 1990 to present date.

#### Mr. John H. Lees

Retired Public Service Chief Officer; Member, Public Employees Pension Scheme Joint Negotiating Group (JNG). Member, PECRS Committee of Management 1990 to present date.

#### Mr. William McPhee

Crane Technician; Chairman, Jersey District Committee, Transport and General Workers Union (TGWU); Member, Public Employees Pension Scheme Joint Negotiating Group (JNG). Member, PECRS Committee of Management 1997 to present date.

#### Mr. John T. Noel

Director, Immigration and Nationality; Chairman, 2/300 Branch, Association of Clerical, Technical and Supervisory Staffs (ACTSS); Member, Public Employees Pension Scheme Joint Negotiating Group (JNG). Member, PECRS Committee of Management 2000 to present date.

#### Mr. Michael D. Orbell

Retired Public Service Chief Officer; Life Vice-President Emeritus, Jersey Civil Service Association (JCSA); Chairman, Public Employees Pension Scheme Joint Negotiating Group (JNG). Member, PECRS Committee of Management 1990 to present date.

#### Mr. Alan Tadier

Prison Officer employed by the Prison Service since 1981. Member of the Prison Officers Association (POA). Member, Public Employees Pension Scheme Joint Negotiating Group (JNG). Member, PECRS Committee of Management 2006 to present date.