STATES OF JERSEY

1

RENT CONTROL TRIBUNAL: APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS

Lodged au Greffe on 26th March 2007 by the Minister for Housing

STATES GREFFE

PROPOSITION

THE STATES are asked to decide whether they are of opinion -

in pursuance of paragraph (1) of Article 3 of the Dwelling Houses (Rent Control) (Jersey) Law 1946, a amended, to appoint the following persons to act as Chairman and Members of the Rent Control Tribunal for a period ending on 12th April 2008, namely –

Mr. Ronald Peter Welling – Chairman Mrs. Mary Gaiger Mr. Jeremy James Robin Johnson Mr. David Crespel

MINISTER FOR HOUSING

REPORT

Article 3 of the Dwelling Houses (Rent Control) (Jersey) Law 1946, as amended, provides for the States to appoint a Rent Control Tribunal consisting of a Chairman and not less than three, nor more than four other Members. The Law also provides that the Chairman and two other Members constitute a quorum for any sitting of the Tribunal.

Regulation 2 of the Dwelling Houses (Rent Control) (Jersey) Regulations 1946 states that the Chairman and Members of the Tribunal shall hold office for a period of 12 months ending on 12th April each year, and be eligible for re-appointment.

In July 2006 the States approved two new Members, Mr. Jeremy Johnson and Mr. David Crespel to join existing Tribunal Members, Mr. Ronald Peter Welling and Mrs. Mary Gaiger. The appointment of the two new Members at that time followed a public advertisement and interview process. All four Members have agreed to allow their names to be put forward for nomination for a further term.

The Minister accordingly has the pleasure in nominating the persons named below for a period ending 12th April 2008.

Mr. Ronald Peter Welling – Chairman Mrs. Mary Gaiger Mr. Jeremy James Robin Johnson Mr. David Crespel

There are no additional financial or manpower implications to the States arising from this proposition.