STATES OF JERSEY



RENT CONTROL TRIBUNAL: APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS

Lodged au Greffe on 25th April 2008 by the Minister for Housing

STATES GREFFE

PROPOSITION

THE STATES are asked to decide whether they are of opinion -

in pursuance of paragraph (1) of Article 3 of the Dwelling Houses (Rent Control) (Jersey) Law 1946, a amended, to appoint the following persons to act as Chairman and Members of the Rent Control Tribunal for a period ending on 12th April 2009, namely –

Mr. Eric Henry Le Ruez – Chairman

Mr. David Leon Crespel

Mr. Jeremy James Robin Johnson

Mrs. Mary Margaret Gaiger.

MINISTER FOR HOUSING

REPORT

Article 3 of the Dwelling Houses (Rent Control) (Jersey) Law 1946, as amended, provides for the States to appoint a Rent Control Tribunal consisting of a Chairman and not less than 3, nor more than 4 other Members. The Law also provides that the Chairman and 2 other Members constitute a quorum for any sitting of the Tribunal.

Regulation 2 of the Dwelling Houses (Rent Control) (Jersey) Regulations 1946 states that the Chairman and Members of the Tribunal shall hold office for a period of 12 months ending on 12th April each year, and be eligible for re-appointment.

In July 2006 the States approved 2 new Members, Mr. Jeremy Johnson and Mr. David Crespel, to join existing Tribunal Members, Mr. Ronald Welling and Mrs. Mary Gaiger. The appointment of the 2 new Members at that time followed a public advertisement and interview process. All 4 Members agreed to allow their names to be put forward for nomination for a further term which ended on 12th April 2008.

Unfortunately, the Chairman, Mr. Ron Welling, who has served on the Tribunal for a number of years, has now decided to stand down from his position to concentrate on enjoying his retirement and several other business interests. The remaining 3 Members, however, have agreed to allow their names to be put forward for nominatior for a further 12 month term.

Mr. Eric Le Ruez, former Chief Executive Officer of the Housing Department and Director of the Property Holdings Department before his retirement in September 2007, has been approached and kindly agreed to allow his name to be put forward for nomination as Chairman of the Tribunal. Mr. Le Ruez has vast experience ir property matters, knowledge of legal procedures and the background to be able to determine in a just manner the issues coming before the Tribunal.

The Minister accordingly has the pleasure in nominating the persons named below for a period ending 12th April 2009.

Mr. Eric Henry Le Ruez - Chairman

Mr. David Leon Crespel

Mr. Jeremy James Robin Johnson

Mrs. Mary Margaret Gaiger

There are no additional financial or manpower implications for the States arising from this proposition.