## **STATES OF JERSEY**



# RENT CONTROL TRIBUNAL: APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN AND MEMBERS

Lodged au Greffe on 11th May 2009 by the Minister for Housing

#### **STATES GREFFE**

### **PROPOSITION**

### THE STATES are asked to decide whether they are of opinion -

in pursuance of paragraph (1) of Article 3 of the Dwelling Houses (Rent Control) (Jersey) Law 1946, as amended, to appoint the following persons to act as Chairman and Members of the Rent Control Tribunal for a period ending on 12th April 2010, namely –

Mr. Eric Henry Le Ruez – Chairman Mr. Edward George Trevor MBE Mr. Jeremy James Robin Johnson Mrs. Mary Margaret Gaiger.

MINISTER FOR HOUSING

#### **REPORT**

Article 3 of the Dwelling Houses (Rent Control) (Jersey) Law 1946, as amended, provides for the States to appoint a Rent Control Tribunal consisting of a Chairman and not less than three, nor more than four other Members. The Law also provides that the Chairman and two other Members constitute a quorum for any sitting of the Tribunal.

Regulation 2 of the Dwelling Houses (Rent Control) (Jersey) Regulations 1946 states that the Chairman and Members of the Tribunal shall hold office for a period of 12 months ending on the 12th April each year, and be eligible for re-appointment.

The Chairman and Members who are currently serving on the Tribunal for the period ending on 12th April 2009 have agreed to allow their names to be put forward for nomination for a further term, and this is supported by The Jersey Appointments Commission.

The Minister accordingly has pleasure in nominating the persons named below for a period ending 12th April 2010 –

Mr. Eric Henry Le Ruez – Chairman Mr. Edward George Trevor MBE Mr. Jeremy James Robin Johnson Mrs. Mary Margaret Gaiger

There are no additional financial or manpower implications to the States arising from this proposition.