# **STATES OF JERSEY**



## JERSEY LAW COMMISSION: APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN

Lodged au Greffe on 5th February 2010 by the Chief Minister

**STATES GREFFE** 

## PROPOSITION

## THE STATES are asked to decide whether they are of opinion -

to refer to their Act, dated 30th July 1996, in which they approved the establishment of a Jersey Law Commission, and to appoint Mr. Clive Chaplin as Chairman of the Jersey Law Commission for a period of 5 years with effect from 1st March 2010.

CHIEF MINISTER

#### REPORT

The States, by Act dated 30th July 1996, adopted a Proposition of the Legislation Committee and approved the establishment of a Jersey Law Commission. The current Chairman of the Law Commission, Mr. David Lyons, has decided to step down from his position. The Committee is grateful to Mr. Lyons, who has been an asset to the Commission and is commended for all his work in this regard.

The Chief Minister therefore nominates Mr. Clive Chaplin as Mr. Lyons replacement and recommends his appointment as Chairman of the Jersey Law Commission for a period of 5 years with effect from 1st March 2010.

#### Financial and manpower implications

There are no additional financial or manpower implications for the States arising from this Proposition.

### Mr. Clive Chaplin

Mr. Clive Chaplin is Non-Executive Chairman of the Ogier Group, which he joined as a partner in 1994.

Mr Chaplin completed his BA at Nottingham University in 1974, and he was admitted as a Solicitor in England and Wales in 1977 and subsequently in Jersey in 1986.

Mr. Chaplin is also a Non-Executive Director of the Jersey Electricity Company as well as a Director of a number of other Jersey and Overseas companies.

Mr. Chaplin has been a member of the Jersey Law Commission since February 2000 and is therefore fully acquainted with the work of the Commission.

I therefore urge States Members to fully endorse Mr. Chaplin's appointment as Chairman of the Jersey Law Commission.

Note: This decision was made before the States approved the revised procedure on 2nd February 2010. Subsequent appointments will follow the revised procedure.