STATES OF JERSEY



RATE APPEAL BOARD: APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS

Lodged au Greffe on 22nd January 2013 by the Minister for Treasury and Resources

STATES GREFFE

PROPOSITION

THE STATES are asked to decide whether they are of opinion -

in pursuance of Article 44 of the Rates (Jersey) Law 2005, to appoint the following – $% \left(1-\frac{1}{2}\right) =0$

Mr. Ian Ridgway Mr. Graeme Marett Mr. Peter Hanning Mr. Peter Routier;

and to re-appoint the following -

Mr. Thomas Slattery Mr. Timothy George Cartwright Mr. Jethro Adams,

as members of the Rate Appeal Board, for the period ending 31st December 2015.

MINISTER FOR TREASURY AND RESOURCES

REPORT

Introduction

The Rate Appeal Board is established under the Rates (Jersey) Law 2005. Members are required to hear and determine appeals against rateable values in accordance with the Law.

Appointment of new Members

The Minister is recommending to the States that the following individuals are appointed for a 3 year term of office -

Mr. Ian Ridgway Mr. Graeme Marett Mr. Peter Hanning Mr. Peter Routier.

The recruitment process was run locally, advertised in the Jersey Evening Post and applicants were invited to submit their intention to apply in writing. A total of 4 candidates expressed an interest and all 4 were shortlisted for interview. Interviews for this role were held on 20th July 2012 and the Panel consisted of an operational member of staff and a member of the Appointments Commission.

All the candidates who were interviewed for the roles were of a high calibre and brought with them relevant experience suited to the role. The Minister is grateful for the input of the Appointments Commission, which is fully supportive of these appointments.

Following the selection process, the Minister recommends that the following be appointed as Members of the Rate Appeal Board for a period of 3 years –

<u>Mr. Ian Ridgway</u>

Mr. Ridgway is currently Group Finance Director for Newtel Holdings Ltd., having previously held the post of Group Finance Director for Jersey Post following 7 years as a Finance Director in the States of Jersey. Mr. Ridgway has extensive experience working at a senior level in both the private and public sectors.

Mr. Graeme Marett

Mr. Marett is currently self-employed, having taken early retirement from RBSI, so is in a position to offer his time on a voluntary basis. Mr. Marett has many years of experience in local industry and economic knowledge which will be of value to this role.

Mr. Peter Hanning

Mr. Hanning is retired and was previously the Connétable of St. Saviour, having served as a Rates Assessor for 22 years. As Managing Director of F. Hanning & Son Ltd., he has extensive experience in the field of property matters. He is also a national judge and umpire for the Royal Yachting Association.

Mr. Peter Routier

Mr. Routier manages a property portfolio of 30 units. He has experience in compliance, leases and insurance within his current role, which is directly related to the field of property matters. As Company Secretary he has a high level of responsibility.

Re-appointment of existing Members

Under Article 44 of the Rates (Jersey) Law 2005, and in line with the Jersey Appointments Commission Code of Practice for appointments to autonomous and quasi-autonomous public bodies and tribunals, the Minister is also pleased to recommend the re-appointment of the following Members for a further 3 year term of office. He is grateful they have put themselves forward for a further term and would like to thank them for their service thus far -

Mr. Thomas Slattery Mr. Timothy George Cartwright Mr. Jethro Adams.

Financial and manpower implications

The posts are honorary and there are no financial or manpower implications for the States arising from this proposition.