STATES OF JERSEY



APPOINTMENT OF ASSISTANT MINISTERS: CONSENT OF THE CHIEF MINISTER

Presented to the States on 19th July 2018 by the Chief Minister

STATES GREFFE

REPORT

Introduction

Under Article 25(1) of the <u>States of Jersey Law 2005</u> the Chief Minister and Ministers may each appoint one or more elected members as his or her Assistant Ministers.

Under Article 25(2) a Minster may only appoint an Assistant Minister with the prior consent of the Chief Minister.

Under Article 25A(1) and <u>Standing Order 112A</u> the aggregate of the Chief Minister, Ministers and Assistant Ministers shall not exceed 21 individuals.

Following discussions with Ministers, the Chief Minister agreed to give consent to the appointment of all Assistant Ministers as set out below.

On 15th June 2018, the Chief Minister made a Ministerial Decision consenting to the appointment of the following States Members as Assistant Ministers (MD-C-2018-0108, available at <u>www.gov.je</u>).

Minister	Assistant Minister(s)
Chief Minister Senator J.A.N. Le Fondré	Connétable C.H. Taylor of St. John Connétable R.A. Buchanan of St. Ouen Deputy C.F. Labey of Grouville
Minister for Economic Development, Tourism, Sport and Culture Senator L.J. Farnham	Senator S.W. Pallett Deputy M. Tadier of St. Brelade
Minister for Education Senator T.A. Vallois	Deputy J.M. Maçon of St. Saviour Senator S.Y. Mézec Deputy M. Tadier of St. Brelade
Minister for Environment Deputy J.H. Young of St. Brelade	Deputy G.C.U. Guida of St. Lawrence
Minister for External Relations Senator I.J. Gorst	Connétable R.A. Buchanan of St. Ouen
Minister for Health and Social Services Deputy R.J. Renouf of St. Ouen	Deputy H.C. Raymond of Trinity Deputy J.M. Maçon of St. Saviour Senator S.W Pallett
Minister for Home Affairs Connétable L. Norman of St. Clement	Deputy G.C.U. Guida of St. Lawrence

Minister for Housing Senator S.Y. Mézec	
Minister for Infrastructure Deputy K.C. Lewis of St. Saviour	Deputy H.C. Raymond of Trinity
Minister for Social Security Deputy J.A. Martin of St. Helier	Deputy G.P. Southern of St. Helier Deputy J.M. Maçon of St. Saviour
Minister for Treasury and Resources Deputy S.J. Pinel of St. Clement	Deputy L.B. Ash of St. Clement

Each Minister will also confirm the appointment of their Assistant Ministers in separate Ministerial Decisions.

The Chief Minister will in due course present a report to the States Assembly setting out the responsibilities of Ministers and their Assistant Ministers, in order to comply with Article 30A of the States of Jersey Law 2005.

Future changes

As outlined as part of his ministerial nominations, the Chief Minister intends to create a new Ministerial role with responsibility for the Island's international position in relation to development, for which he will nominate the Deputy C.F. Labey of Grouville.

Deputy M. Tadier of St. Brelade is being appointed as an Assistant Minister to the Minister for Economic Development, Tourism, Sport and Culture with responsibilities for arts, culture and heritage, and as Assistant Minister for Education, noting the synergies between arts, culture and heritage, and educational matters. This is pending the creation of the new Ministerial role with responsibility for the Island's international position in relation to development, at which point the responsibilities to be included as part of that portfolio will be considered further.

The Chief Minister also intends to create the role of Minister for Children. A decision as to whether responsibility for housing will remain with a dedicated Minister, or be amalgamated into other portfolios, will be taken in due course.

Finally, responsibilities for Financial Services will be transferred to the Minister for External Relations. Connétable R.A. Buchanan of St. Ouen is appointed to serve as an Assistant Minister to the Minister for External Relations for that purpose.

The Chief Minister will also be reviewing the political responsibilities for existing portfolios and assessing whether those portfolios will be revised in light of strategic priorities and the changes to the civil service structure.