Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Bailiff's Consultative Panel

The Bailiff’s Consultative Panel was established in 1992 to enable the Bailiff to consult confidentially in appropriate cases with a group of elected members.  The panel does not meet frequently, but when it meets it enables the Bailiff to discuss various matters with elected members. 

The panel may discuss matters such as:

  • the plans for Liberation Day celebrations
  • the arrangements for the departure or arrival of a Lieutenant-Governor
  • the appropriate way to mark a civic occasion

The panel is comprised of the Chief Minister, the Chairman of the Privileges and Procedures Committee, the Minister for Treasury and Resources, the Chairman of the Comité des Connétables and 5 other members elected by ballot by the States for a period of 3 years.

Current membership of the panel

Senator Ian Joseph Gorst (Chief Minister) 
Connétable Len Norman of St. Clement (Chairman of the Privileges and Procedures Committee)
Senator Alan Maclean (Minister for Treasury and Resources)
Connétable John Refault of St. Peter (Vice Chairman of the Comité des Connétables)
Senator P.F.C. Ozouf
Senator L.J. Farnham
Connétable D.W. Mezbourian of St. Lawrence
Deputy J.A. Martin of St. Helier
Deputy C.F. Labey of Grouville