Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Scrutiny panels and committees

Scrutiny of legislation

There are 5 Scrutiny panels, a Public Accounts Committee (PAC), and a Chairmen's Committee. The Chairmen's Committee brings together the chairmen of the 5 panels and the PAC.

What is Scrutiny?

Scrutiny panels are appointed by the States. There are 5 Scrutiny panels which are made up of States members (who are not ministers or assistant ministers) and some members of the public. These panels carry out detailed investigations into ministers' work, and can call for papers and witnesses relevant to their investigations.

Scrutiny website

Scrutiny helps to improve the delivery of public services by ensuring that decisions are soundly based on evidence and also allows members of the public to influence government policies and strategies which affect their lives by contributing evidence to reviews and attending public hearings. The panels have a code of practice they must follow.

Download Code of Practice for Scrutiny panels and the PAC (size 171kb)

What are the terms of reference of Scrutiny panels?

The terms of reference for scrutiny panels are set out in Standing Orders and can be summarised as follows:

  • to hold review into issues and matters of public importance
  • to consider the current and proposed policy of ministers
  • to scrutinise legislation and international conventions and agreements
  • to scrutinise the Medium Term Financial Plan, the Budget and other financial proposals of the Council of Ministers
  • to report to the States on matters that they have reviewed and make recommendations


Chairmen's Committee on Scrutiny website
Public Accounts Committee on Scrutiny website


Corporate Services Panel on Scrutiny website
Economic Affairs Panel on Scrutiny website
Education and Home Affairs Panel on Scrutiny website
Environment, Housing and Infrastructure Panel on Scrutiny website
Health and Social Security Panel on Scrutiny website