Estate Management

Scrutiny review - Public Accounts Committee

Launch date: 15/06/2020

Review status: Call for evidence

What is the review about?

The States of Jersey owns a vast array of buildings and property assets, worth over £1 billion. Some are currently utilised, some are lying empty with agreed plans for future use and some could potentially be repurposed or sold. The PAC wrote a report on Estate Management in February 2019, (following on from the former C&AG's Report on Operational Land and Buildings in June 2018) and the Executive Response was published in April 2019. It then launched a follow up review earlier this year. It wanted to assess the progress on overall arrangements of the Government's strategic property function since its restructure under the OneGov arrangements with funding approved in the Government Plan.

The PAC also wanted to assess the progress of establishing a Corporate Asset Management Group (CAMB) by the Government and whether any progress had been made on developing an Island-wide Estate Strategy. When the PAC held a public hearing with the (former) Director General of Growth, Housing and Environment (GHE) department, in February 2020, he assured the PAC that the department was making progress.  We temporarily halted our follow up review on the understanding that, as emphasised in PAC Comments 27 February 2020, the GHE Target Operating Model would be finalised shortly and the Estate Management Strategy would be made public by the end of February 2020. Neither has happened.

The PAC is aware that the Covid-19 pandemic would have had a significant impact on progress in some areas of property and asset management, however it is relaunching the review to ascertain what work has been done to produce a comprehensive property strategy linked to corporate objectives, maintaining deteriorating buildings and considering sales of non-necessary buildings/land in line with the Common Strategic Policy and Government Plan. We consider this to remain of vital importance, perhaps even more so than before the outbreak, to make sure we are making the most of our vast portfolio of property assets for the benefit of the public.

The Committee is interested to hear views from the public on the above review and would like to invite submissions by 1st September 2020. You can email the Lead Committee and Panel Officer, Caro Tomlinson, at c.tomlinson2@gov.je

Sharing your personal information and testimony:

The Committee takes data protection very seriously.  Any submission received by the Panel which includes personal information or testimony will be stored in a digitally secure location on the States Greffe IT system. Only Committee members and States Greffe staff will have access to the information. No personal information will be put into the public domain.

The Committee and Panel Officer will discuss with each person submitting personal information or testimony how it may be used by the Committee to support its review. This may include whether it is possible to publish a redacted and anonymised version. The wishes of the person submitting the information will be respected.

Should the Committee wish to take oral evidence from witnesses, hearings will be conducted in private and only an anonymised transcript will be produced. The individuals involved will have the opportunity to review the transcript before it is published. If the individuals involved decide that they don't want the transcript to be published, their wishes will be respected.

At the end of the review any personal data collected during the review will be deleted.

If you would like to discuss this in more detail, please contact the Committee and Panel Officer, Caro Tomlinson (c.tomlinson2@gov.je Tel: 441026).

Review progress

​The Review relaunched on 15th June and the public call for evidence is open until 1st September 2020. The Panel will also be gathering evidence from key stakeholders and it is intended for public hearings to take place during June, September and October 2020 with the final report being presented in December 2020.

Terms of reference

You can find the full terms of reference here (Link needed), but they are in summary, below:

  • We will be assessing the progress of the Corporate Asset Management Board (link needed) and the Regeneration Steering Group in producing a comprehensive property strategy;
  • We want to know who has been consulted in the process (e.g. community groups, other stakeholders, the wider public);
  • We want to see a comprehensive Island Wide Estate Management Strategy;
  • We aim to find out why there has been so much delay; 
  • We will hold a public call for evidence in order to gather views and we will also invite key stakeholder groups to share their views; and
  • We will produce an evidenced-based report with findings and recommendations.


Transcripts


Research

Back to top
rating button