APF Executive Committee Members elected

28th September 2022

​On Monday 26 September, the Jersey branch of the Assemblée Parlementaire de la Francophonie (APF) met to elect a President and Members to sit on its Executive Committee for the next four years.

Deputy Montfort Tadier was re-elected as President of the Executive Committee, receiving 18 votes. His opposing candidate, Deputy Sir Philip Bailhache, received 8 votes.

The meeting also saw the election of the Connétable of St Brelade, Mike Jackson, Deputy Sir Philip Bailhache, Deputy Raluca Kovacs, Deputy Helen Miles and Deputy Kirsten Morel as members of the Committee.

Members also received a short briefing from the Directors of the Alliance Francaise and La Maison de Normandie et de La Manche, about the work they do in the Island.

Deputy Tadier commented: "I am delighted to have been re-elected as President of the Jersey section of the APF. It's been a privilege to serve on the Committee for the last four years, representing the States Assembly as a French-speaking parliament and working to strengthen our relationship with parliamentarians across the world. It is important that Jersey and its parliament is represented not only in English-speaking countries, but in France and further afield, and the APF allows this to happen.

"I look forward to working with the rest of the Committee and other stakeholders over the next four years. I would also like to take this opportunity to thank our on-Island partners, such as La Maison de Normandie and L'Alliance, the Honorary Consul and the 12 Parish Twinning Associations, for the work they do in the Island."

Back to news

Back to top
rating button