Next Week's States Meeting

17th March 2023

On Tuesday 21 March, the next meeting of the States Assembly will commence at 9:30am. The meeting takes place in the States Chamber and is open for the public to attend, as well as being broadcast live via Public-I.


Following the Vote of No Confidence, which took place at the last States Meeting, the meeting will begin with the election of a new Chair and panel members to the Health and Social Security Scrutiny Panel. Each individual nominated as Chair will speak for up to 10 minutes, after which they will be questioned by other members for up to 20 minutes.


States Members will then question Ministers for up to two hours and 20 minutes. These oral questions will have been issued to them in advance (i.e. 'with notice'). Details of this week's oral questions with notice can be found on page 5 of the Order Paper.

The following Ministers will then answer oral questions which they have not been given in advance of the meeting (i.e., 'without notice') for 15 minutes each:

  • Minister for Social Security, Deputy Elaine Millar
  • Minister for Treasury and Resources, Deputy Ian Gorst
  • Chief Minister, Deputy Kristina Moore


Following question time, Deputy Tadier will make a statement in his capacity as President of the Assemblée Parlementaire de la Francophonie regarding the 'Mois de la Francophonie 2023'.

Public Business

The States Assembly will then begin debating the following topics (in this order):

Topics: More information:

Draft Sanctions and Asset-Freezing (Amendment No. 3) Law

Minister for External Relations and Financial Services, Deputy Philip Ozouf's proposition

Development of a Town Masterplan

Connétable Simon Crowcroft's proposition

Deputy Sam Mézec's amendment

Deputy Alex Curtis' amendment


A notification when each debate begins, a summary of the proposal and the results of each debate will be shared on the States Assembly Twitter pages throughout the meeting. A summary of the meeting will be shared at the end of each day on the news section of the States Assembly website. 

Back to news

Back to top
rating button